December 10, 2013

5 ICD-10 Tasks You Should Complete Before January 1

5 ICD-10 TasksIn less than eleven months, the health care industry will transition from ICD-9 to ICD-10 codes for diagnoses and hospital inpatient procedures. This means everyone covered by HIPAA must use ICD-10 codes for health care services provided on or after October 1, 2014. If your billing system has not been upgraded for the current version of HIPAA claims standards—Version 5010—you will not be able to submit claims to Medicare, Medicaid, and many private insurers. This could result in a significant interruption of revenue, especially for small and mid-size providers. If you haven't started preparing for the changeover yet, you may be wondering where to begin. Jennifer Bresnick shares Five ICD-10 Tasks to Complete by the End of 2013  on EHR Intelligence:
  1. Get a status report from your vendors and your payers
  2. Create a roadmap for system upgrades if you’re still waiting
  3.  If you’re not already testing, finalize your schedule
  4.  Review your CDI program and coder education
  5.  Make sure you’re not missing anything big
Jennifer discusses each of these in more detail in her article. Don't forget that we're hosting a webinar with Mark Lott, president of Lott QA Group, this Thursday, December 12, at 1:00 p.m. Eastern Time. During the webinar, Mark will discuss how health care organizations can confidently deploy system upgrades to satisfy current and upcoming technology initiatives like ICD-10 and Stage 2 of the Meaningful Use criteria. Register now to attend this informative webinar.