Configuring Surround SCM Check Out Options
- Support concurrent/parallel development by allowing anyone to commit changes to any file at any time.
- Prevent concurrent/parallel development, and the potential for merge complications, by requiring exclusive locks prior to committing changes.
Enable Concurrent Development
Under Tools > Administration > Server Options, check the Allow multiple users to check out a file box. This will enable a file to be checked out (locked) by multiple people at the same time. Conflicting changes are handled when changes are checked in (committed) to the source tree.
That second box, Allow check in of files without check out, gives users more flexibility in when they can commit changes. The classic Check out > Change > Check in can be restrictive to some developers/teams. Some teams need the flexibility to change files without having to decide right away whether those changes will end up making it into the source mainline. The Change > Check in model was popularized by CVS, and saves you the Check out step. The downside here is a lack of insight into who's changing code in a given branch, since nobody has to (essentially) state their intention of changing a file by checking it out.