May 13, 2011

Controlling Default User Options in Surround SCM

Surround SCM
Surround SCM includes several user options that allow each user to optimize the way they use Surround SCM. While there can be a whole discussion about which options makes the most sense to have set as default, starting in 2011.1 you (as the administrator) will have more control on how these user options are set. Under Tools > Administration, you will find a new option named Default User Options. Here, you have three options for each user option:
  • <no default>: Users already using Surround SCM will not see any changes, new users will have the defaults that ship with the product. This means no change from the way it currently works.
  • Default: Users already using Surround SCM will not see any changes, new users will get this option as default.
  • Required: This enforces the option for all users.
In the following image, I am setting the "by timestamp and CRC" File Comparison user option to be Required. This means every user that connects to this server will have this setting enforced, regardless of their current setting. [caption id="attachment_8333" align="aligncenter" width="283" caption="Default User Option"]Default User Option[/caption] For more information about what the setting shown above does, check out this post. For those of you that also use TestTrack and would like see this feature implemented there, make sure to submit a feature request.