April 25, 2011

Understanding TestTrack Client Connection Settings

Helix ALM
TestTrack includes several options to handle client connections. These options allow an administrator to configure how long TestTrack will keep connections active and when to close them. These options are in the TestTrack Server Admin Utility. Under Server Options, go to Client Settings: [caption id="attachment_7976" align="aligncenter" width="436" caption="Client Timeout Settings"]Client Timeout Settings[/caption] The availability of these options depends on the version of TestTrack you are using.

Native Client Options

There are two different options for the native client. Log out users if the client is inactive for x minutes: This option, which is only available in TestTrack 2011.1 and later, sets the number of minutes of inactivity before users are logged out of the TestTrack native client. One minute prior to log out, the user receives in inactivity warning. The user can ignore the message and be logged out or choose to extend the session. [caption id="attachment_7978" align="aligncenter" width="514" caption="Inactivity Warning"]Logout Prompt[/caption] Keep native client user server session active for x minutes of responsiveness: This option, which is only available in TestTrack 2011 and later, sets how long the TestTrack Server keeps the client session open when the server loses the connection with the client. For example, Joe may have his TestTrack client open and connected to the server. If the network connection goes down, this setting will allow him to reconnect to the same session, as long as the disconnection does not last longer than the amount of minutes specified.

Web Client Settings

Log out web users after x minutes of inactivity: This option sets the number of minutes of inactivity before users are logged out of the TestTrack Web client. Keep in mind that closing the browser without logging out first may not close the session and release the license. This timeout allows the administrator to ensure that, if this happens, the session is closed and the license is released.

SOAP Client Settings

Log out SOAP users after x minutes of inactivity: If you access TestTrack programmatically, you are using the SOAP client. If the program does not call the Logout() method, the session stays open and the license is not released. This option ensures that, if the method is not called or if the program exits before reaching this call, the session is closed and the license is released. For both the web and SOAP clients, the user is not presented with a message or prompt. The connection is closed and the user is logged out when the period of inactivity is reached. If the user attempts to perform any activity with that session, the user receives a message that the connection has been closed.