The P4Admin tool simplifies user administration by enabling you to perform the most common operations in a GUI. To display the P4Admin screen, you can select it as a standalone application from the Start menu, or you can go to the Tools menu in P4V, and select Administration.

You can manage multiple servers from the P4Admin tool. Each server will know if you have Superuser privileges and disable certain tabs and menu items if you do not. You can close this window if you don’t change servers often or if you need the extra real estate on the screen.

The home screen contains a dashboard with lots of useful info such as system alerts, which you can configure here… current configuration of the server… disk space usage… available user licenses… and a list of inactive users that you can remove to reuse their license for a new user.

First off, let’s browse the existing users and groups. By clicking a name, we can quickly see what groups that user belongs to. Conversely, we can click on a group to see all its members. At the bottom of the window you can see additional info on the selected user or group.

Next, we go to Permissions, where we can see the level of access for each group and individual. Lastly, we have the Depots tab, which enables us to inspect the activity on the content of each depot. You can navigate all the way down to an individual file to see who has it checked out and even perform a few operations on the content from this window.

We need to add Sunil Patel, an existing user, to the Webmasters group, because he will be helping out on the web server management tasks. To add him to the group, we double-click his name, choose edit, and browse to the WebMasters group.

John Wakeman also needs to join the WebMasters. Instead of opening up the dialog box, we will just drag him over to the WebMasters group.

When you right-click a user or group, a context sensitive menu is displayed. To create a user, choose New User. You can select an existing user as a template, to copy their permissions, reviews, and job view settings to the new user.

For example, Mark King is a new hire who will be working in the same group as Joe. To create a user for him right click Joe and select Create User from Joe Coder, enter the standard required info such as user, email, and full name. Next, we update the job view to display open jobs that are assigned to him. Now Mark is subscribed to the same review emails as Joe, and he inherits the same permissions since they are in the same groups.

One of the senior developers, Gale, has left the company so we need to delete her account. When I select Gale and chose Delete, I see a dialog box informing me that any open changelists for this user will be closed. This is the same as performing a “Revert” on those files. Next, we see the workspaces to be deleted. Once you hit the “Delete User” button, you now have her license to reassign to another user. When you delete a user, you are not deleting any files they submitted or any relevant history from the system; all their activity is retained.

We’ve just finished a short set of changes to the users list. You’ll find group operations very similar so we won’t go over those in detail.

Lastly, there are two more common operations that can be performed from the Administration dropdown menu. The first is load license file. You just need to select the server to update, and navigate to the license file to install. It can be completed while the server is live and does not require a restart. The second operation is the obliterate. This will remove the specified range of instances of a file including the history and it cannot be undone. Please use sparingly.

This concludes the basic overview of P4 Admin. If you have any specific technical questions, please contact support@perforce.com.

Thanks for watching.

Course - Getting Started with Helix - Admins